Controlling access to your Vyew Rooms

Access Control settings are located in the UserList:

.

Invites Only (default)

Only people you Invite, can access your Vyew Rooms (More about invites).

Owner Only

This option locks out everyone (including those invited) execpt for the owner.

Open to Anyone

To let everyone access your Vyew Room anytime, you can set it to “Open to Anyone” which will effectively leave your Vyew Room unlocked.

Anyone with the direct URL to your Vyew Room will have access, unless you have the Password Option checked. More about passwords.

Activity Logs: Knowing who was in your Meeting Room

In the Home tab, look for the “Activity” column on the right side. Click the links in that column to view Activity Details of that Room.

Click in Activity column for details

The Activity Details will show you the screenname and email address* of people who have entered the room.

Activity Details Screen

Activity Details Screen

*Note: The email will only show up if that person is a registered user. If you require email addresses of everyone, you can force them to register for Vyew before entering the room. Be aware that forcing registration may lower your response rate of people entering your room because they may not feel like registering.

In the Invite Options, you can force registrations

Inviting people with a Direct URL

Instead of using the Vyew Invitation Manager, you can also email people the URL of the Vyew Room, e.g.:

http://vyew.com/room#/12345/yourRoomName

.

NOTE: To use direct URL’s, Vyew Room access control must be set to “Open To Anyone,” or “Private” with a set password.

Setting Access Control: Open To Anyone

To allow users to come in directly to a Vyew Room without needing an invite, set the “Room Access” to “Anyone with the link:”.

VyewRoomAccessOptionsOpen

You can then set the permissions level of the users who enter your Vyew Room through the direct URL:

  • UserTypeViewerThey can view – to limit their access to just viewing. (A Viewer.)
  • UserTypeReviewerThey can draw / comment – to allow them to view, markup, and comment on content. (A Reviewer.)
  • UserTypeCollaboratorThey can draw / comment and upload – to allow them to review and upload content. (A Collaborator.)
  • Click on “More Options” to be able to assign users Moderator privileges.

More about User Roles/Permissions.

Setting Access Control: Password Protect a Vyew Room

For added security, you can distribute your room’s URL generally, then give the password only to selected users. Users without the password will be sent to your lobby.
Set the “Room Access” to “Private – only invited users”, then check “or people with this password:” and enter your room’s password in the box.
VyewRoomAccessOptionsPassword

How Sync Mode affects Viewer Permissions

You should also be aware that a book’s Sync Mode affects whether a Viewer user role can navigate or not. Please read this section: “How Sync Mode affects Viewer Roles“.

This site uses a Hackadelic PlugIn, Hackadelic SEO Table Of Contents 1.6.0.